Ancey

I have both a PhD and an engineering degree granted by the École Centrale de Paris and Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble (INP Grenoble, Grenoble National Polytechnic Institute). Trained as a hydraulics engineer, I did my doctoral work under the supervision of Pierre Evesque and co-supervision from Philippe Coussot from Dec. 1994 to July 1997 on rheology of granular flows in simple shearing. I was recruited in March 1998 as a researcher (rheology) at the Cemagref (now Irstea), which has since become the laboratoire “Storm Erosion, Snow and Avalanche Laboratory”. Parallel to this research activity, with Claude Charlier I set up a consulting firm for engineering contracting called Toraval (avalanche and torrent protection), which has become the major player in this field in France. Among other things, we developed the first numerical models based on the depth-averaged equations for engineering applications.

Highlights:

  • Scientific production
    • 72 articles in scientific journals since 1996, including 8 articles in Journal of Fluid Mechanics, 8 in Journal of Geophysical Research, 5 in Physics of Fluids, 4 in Journal of Rheology, etc.
    • H-index : 30 (Scopus), 29 (Web of Science), 41 (Google Scholar).
    • 6 books and 11 book chapters.
  • Scientific areas: geophysical fluid dynamics (granular flows, viscoplastic fluids, suspensions, particle transport). Application to natural flows (avalanches, debris flows, floods, bedload transport).
  • Supervision of 16 PhD students 1999.
  • 4 courses (total of 12 credits, 168 hr of teaching, with about 100-200 students a year) and one MOOC course (massive open online course) (made with Prof. F. Gallaire).
  • Services to the community: associate editor for Water Resources Research (AGU) since 2004, Journal of Geophysics Research: Earth Surface since 2015, and member of the ISTE-Wiley editorial board, series “Environmental Engineering” since 2012. I have reviewed nore 300 articles since 1999.
  • Consultant in snow avalanche engineering from 1997 to 2014. I was involved as an expert or advisor for all the disastrous avalanches in France since 1999 (from the 1999 Péclerey avalanche that killed 12 people in their dwellings to the 2015 avalanches in the Pyrénées mountain range). Involved in 197 reports from 1997 to 2014.
  • Personal note: since 2009, I have been struggling with a neurological disease, which has mainly affected muscles.

Ancey

Christophe Ancey est docteur-ingénieur diplômé de l’École Centrale de Paris et de l’Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble (INP Grenoble). Outre une spécialisation en hydraulique des ouvrages (barrages), il a obtenu un diplôme d’études approfondies en mécanique et réalisé sa thèse de doctorat sous la direction de Pierre Evesque (co-supervision de Philippe Coussot) de 1994 à 1997 ; son sujet a porté sur la rhéologie des écoulements granulaires en cisaillement simple. Il a été recruté en 1998 comme chargé de recherche (rhéologie) au Cemagref — devenu Irstea — au sein de l’équipe « protection contre les érosions » dirigé par Jean-Pierre Feuvrier, devenu depuis le laboratoire « Erosion Torrentielle, Neige et Avalanches ». Il a principalement travaillé avec Maurice Meunier et Philippe Frey. En parallèle, Il a créé avec Claude Charlier une structure de conseil et d’assistance à maîtrise d’ouvrage pour l’ingénierie Toraval (protections contre les avalanches et les crues torrentielles), qui est devenu le principal acteur du domaine en France. Il y a développé, entre autres, les premiers modèles numériques d’application et les études de nivologie statistique.

Son CV en bref :

  • Formation : 1993 ingénieur (barragiste) et DEA mécanique, 1997 thèse de doctorat en mécanique, 2002 habilitation à diriger les recherches
  • Carrière : 1998 chargé de recherches (rhéologie) au Cemagref, 2003 professeur assistant EPFL, 2009 professeur associé EPFL
  • Production scientifique
    • 72 articles dans des journaux scientifiques depuis 1996, dont : 8 articles dans Journal of Fluid Mechanics, 8 dans Journal of Geophysical Research, 5 dans Physics of Fluids, 4 dans Journal of Rheology, etc.
    • H-index : 30 (Scopus), 29 (Web of Science), 41 (Google Scholar).
    • 6 livres et 11 chapitres de livre.
  • Domaine de recherche : dynamique des fluides géophysiques (écoulements granulaires, fluides viscoplastiques, suspensions, transport de particules) avec application aux milieux naturels (avalanches, laves torrentielles, crues torrentielles).
  • Supervision de 16 doctorants depuis 1999.
  • 4 cours (pour un total de 12 crédits, 168 h d’enseignement, avec environ 100 à 200 étudiants par an) et un cours MOOC (massive open online course) (créé avec le Prof. F. Gallaire).
  • Services à la communauté: éditeur associé pour Water Resources Research (AGU) depuis 2004, Journal of Geophysics Research: Earth Surface depuis 2015, et membre du comité éditorial ISTE-Wiley dans la series « Environmental Engineering » depuis 2012. Il a rapporté sur 300 articles depuis 1999.
  • Consultant pour le risque d’avalanche et torrentiel entre 1997 et2014. Il a été impliqué comme expert ou conseiller pour toutes les catastrophes en France depuis 20 ans (p. ex. avalanche de Péclerey de 1999 qui a tué 12 personnes). Il a participé à environ deux cents études d’ingénierie de 1997 à 2014.
  • Atteint d’une maladie neurologique des muscles, il a dû adapter ses conditions de travail.